History & Mission


In 1872, the pastor of St. Joseph's, Reverend L. X. Basin, offered the church basement to the newly formed public school system for use as classrooms. Listed as the "Fourth Street School" on public school records, St. Joseph's began as the first unit of the public school system of Macon. Two Sisters of Mercy taught at the school but were not permitted to teach religion during the school day. Catholics stayed after school for a thirty minute religion class and to prepare for the sacraments. All Catholic children, regardless of school ward, were permitted to attend the Sisters' school. This arrangement continued at different locations until 1902.

Under the leadership of its pastor, Reverend Joseph Winkelried, S.J., Saint Joseph's Parochial School was organized with four Sisters of Mercy as instructors. The old Crutchfield home on High Street served as the school until 1953 when a newly constructed school opened on High Street. Consisting of grades K through grade seven until 1958 when an eighth grade was added.

Three additions to the school were completed, one in 1981, the second in 1992 and the third in 2014. St. Joseph's expanded to have two of each grade from kindergarten through grade six. The seventh and eighth grades were dropped after the 1995-1996 school year with these students transferring to the local Catholic middle/senior high school. A four-year-old kindergarten program opened during the 2004-2005 school year.  A three-year-old kindergarten program opened during 2016.

Located in the historic district of Macon, Saint Joseph's School continues to have a prominent place in the local community. It continues to thrive, cherishing its rich history, but accepting the challenges of this millennium.



St. Joseph's Catholic School, a parish community guided by the Gospel values and Catholic tradition, is dedicated to educating, nurturing, and encouraging the mind, body, and spirit of every child, creating lifelong learners and stewards of the Faith.